Novebar
Search Search the site
Menu Novebar
Color theme
Language Choose a language
Back to Blog
Stories

Bean-to-cup coffee machine warranty: what it really covers (and what it doesn't)

Bean-to-cup coffee machine warranty: what it really covers (and what it doesn't)

Updated 03/09/2026

"2-year warranty." It's printed on almost every spec sheet, and on its own it tells you very little. What a bean-to-cup coffee machine warranty actually covers depends on which of three protections you mean, and they share neither a duration, nor a counterparty, nor a price. Two of them are free. The third gets sold to you at the till.

1

Three warranties, three different counterparties

Warranty Who owes it Duration Cost
Statutory guarantee of conformity the seller (the shop, not the brand) 2 years from delivery, extended to 30 months if the seller repairs during the period €0, mandatory
Manufacturer warranty (commercial warranty) the manufacturer 2 years to 3 years depending on brand, 25 months at Jura €0, but optional
Extended warranty the retailer or an insurer not stated: set by the contract 15 to 20 % of the new appliance price

The legal figures here come from French consumer law, which has the advantage of being published in full with article numbers and dates, behind the same EU directive 2019/771 every member state has transposed. According to Service Public (page verified 17 August 2026), the statutory guarantee of conformity covers any new purchase for two years from delivery, and the seller has to prove the defect wasn't there at purchase. The commercial warranty (page verified 2 September 2025), which most people just call the manufacturer warranty, adds to the statutory one without ever replacing it.

Which leaves one rule worth remembering if your machine has just died. Your manufacturer warranty can be long expired and you still have a claim against the shop for the first 24 months.

2

What does the manufacturer warranty actually cover?

Parts and labour, against the invoice, for domestic use. That's the common floor across the six brands here. Everything above it varies more than the spec sheets suggest.

At De'Longhi, the official 2025 warranty document explicitly excludes "les pannes liées à l'entartrage" (limescale-related breakdowns) and "l'usage de produit détartrant non autorisé (Vinaigre, Pastille, Poudre)", meaning an unapproved descaler, with white vinegar named in the contract. That's the sort of clause people find out about at the service counter.

At JURA (page consulted 03/09/2026), cover runs 25 months for private use and drops to 12 months for professional use. It also assumes you only ever use the brand's own consumables: water filters, cleaning tablets, descaler.

3

How long, brand by brand

Here's the bean-to-cup coffee machine warranty by brand:

Brand Domestic use Professional use Cup-count cap Source
De'Longhi 2 years, extended to 3 years on Specialista and Espresso-with-grinder models, the entire Magnifica line excluded warranty is domestic-use only not stated in the 2025 document De'Longhi warranty terms 2025
Krups 2 years 1 year not stated Krups (Groupe SEB), consulted 03/09/2026
Jura 25 months 12 months not stated JURA France, consulted 03/09/2026
Sage 2 years, wear parts excluded not stated not stated Sage Appliances, consulted 03/09/2026
Philips / Saeco 24 months not stated not stated Saeco, consulted 03/09/2026
Melitta 2 years above 7,500 coffees a year the use counts as professional 15,000 cycles UFC-Que Choisir, 11/12/2023

The Magnifica row deserves a second look. A "free third year" message floats around the De'Longhi grinder range, and the 2025 document names every Magnifica model it excludes: Magnifica, S, Smart, Start, Evo, Evo Next, Plus. The brand's best-known budget line stays at 2 years.

Then the part almost nobody mentions. Some makers cap the warranty by number of coffees instead of by time. A UFC-Que Choisir investigation from December 2023 found grinder machines warranted for 5,000, 8,000, or 15,000 coffees, while a former employee of a leading brand said those same machines are built for around 20,000 cups. So the cap isn't an engineering ceiling. It's a commercial decision.

One honest caveat: the 5,000-cycle figure attached to De'Longhi comes from that 2023 article, not the brand's own 2025 terms, which name no cup count. Melitta's 15,000 cycles also come from Que Choisir, not from Melitta's general terms.

4

What voids a bean-to-cup warranty

Six situations can void a bean-to-cup coffee machine warranty, and any one of them turns a repair into a paid repair.

  1. Descaling skipped, or done with the wrong product. Vinegar, an unapproved tablet, supermarket powder. De'Longhi puts it in writing.
  2. The cup count exceeded, where the brand sets one.
  3. Professional use. Krups drops from 2 years to 1, Jura from 25 months to 12, Melitta draws its line at 7,500 coffees a year. The exposure goes past the warranty: according to AuBonKawa, an insurer can refuse to pay out on an incident if the appliance doesn't meet the professional standard EN 60335-2-75.
  4. Non-original parts, filters and accessories.
  5. Disassembly by an unapproved technician. During the first 24 months it's the seller who has to show the fault came from that intervention, not you who has to prove it didn't.
  6. Impact damage, liquid in the electrics, and foreign objects dropped into the grinder.
5

Is a paid extended warranty worth it?

Probably not, and here's the arithmetic.

An extension typically costs between 15 and 20 % of the new appliance price, while a reliability survey cited by Que Choisir (September 2024) found only about 12 % of appliances under 10 years old had actually failed, at an average repair cost of around €120. On a €600 machine that puts the extension at €90 to €120 (our own arithmetic), roughly one average repair, to cover a 12 % risk.

The real weakness isn't the price, it's the window. Your first two years are already free under the law, and brew-unit wear tends to show up after the contract has run out. The same source notes payouts are often depreciated by roughly 1 % a month, dragging the settlement to about 40 % of value after five years.

At Novebar, our rule on the bean-to-cup coffee machine warranty is short. It can make sense above roughly €1,000, if you're pulling more than ten coffees a day and the contract covers the brew unit and the grinder with no excess. On a €400 machine it doesn't. Keep the €70 and put it into decent descaler.

6

Frequently Asked Questions

How long is the warranty on a bean-to-cup coffee machine?

Two years at Krups, Sage, Philips/Saeco and Melitta, 25 months at Jura for private use, and 2 years at De'Longhi, rising to 3 years on Specialista and Espresso-with-grinder models outside the Magnifica line. Those are the durations the brands published as of 3 September 2026. Alongside them, the statutory guarantee of conformity covers two years whatever the brand.

Does the manufacturer warranty cover labour?

Yes. Across the six brands here it covers parts and labour for its stated duration, against the purchase invoice and for domestic use. Wear parts are often excluded, and Sage says so explicitly. Transport to the repair centre is sometimes still on you, depending on the dealer.

Can a number of coffees void the warranty?

Yes. According to the UFC-Que Choisir investigation of December 2023, some grinder machines are warranted for 5,000, 8,000 or 15,000 coffees, and cover ends at whichever limit arrives first. Melitta caps at 15,000 cycles per that same source. A heavy household can fall out of warranty well before the anniversary date.

Is descaling a condition of the warranty?

Yes, and not only how often you do it. De'Longhi's 2025 terms exclude limescale-related breakdowns and the use of an unapproved descaler, naming vinegar, tablets and non-approved powders. Jura conditions its warranty on using only its own consumables. Keeping the descaler receipts is worth the drawer space.

What can I do once the manufacturer warranty has expired?

Check the delivery date first. If it's under two years old, the statutory guarantee of conformity still applies, this time against the seller, and it's the seller who has to prove the fault wasn't there at purchase. Beyond that there's still the hidden-defects guarantee, with two years to act from the moment you discover the fault.

Sources

  1. Service Public service-public.gouv.fr
  2. commercial warranty service-public.gouv.fr
  3. official 2025 warranty document eu-assets.contentstack.com
  4. JURA fr.jura.com
  5. UFC-Que Choisir investigation from December 2023 quechoisir.org
  6. AuBonKawa aubonkawa.fr
  7. reliability survey cited by Que Choisir boursorama.com

Related Posts