Coffee Bean Advent Calendar 2026: What to Check First
Updated on 10 October 2026
None of the French retailer pages checked on 10 October 2026 mentions a roast date. Yet a coffee bean advent calendar is 24 sealed sachets that sit around for weeks. Before "beans or ground", two questions: roasted when, and packed how?
Does the coffee in a calendar stay fresh for 24 days?
Sealed, it still ages: oxygen is what strips the aroma. According to the Specialty Coffee Association's literature review (2012), nitrogen-flushed coffee kept for 6 months in sensory testing, against 3 without. The figure comes from a single 2001 study, so it's a rough guide, not a promise.
Resting cuts the other way. Paris roaster Coutume Café suggests at least 5 days after roasting, ideally 10 to 20 depending on the coffee, and our piece on coffee degassing puts espresso at 7 days minimum. Beans roasted just before shipping are probably a good sign.
The freshness checklist before you order
- A date. The roast date if possible, otherwise the best-before date. According to France's consumer authority, the DGCCRF (press release, 18 November 2022), a product is still fine to consume after that date if the packaging is intact.
- A roasting policy. Arlo's Coffee, sold through Ici Présent, says it roasts "to order or in short-run batches" and ships from 19 October 2026, 66 days before 24 December (editorial calculation). That's the seller's claim, not verified, but it's the only page checked that mentions roasting.
- Valve, nitrogen, vacuum? None of the pages checked says. Ask.
- The format. Whole beans usually keep better, but you'll need an electric burr grinder or a bean-to-cup machine. Neither? Get the ground version.
- Real variety. "24 coffees" doesn't mean 24 origins: at Arlo's, 11 are exclusive blends and 13 are single origins (Ici Présent, September 2026).
Coffee bean advent calendar: how many grams, and what price per 100 g?
Doors hold 30 g or 40 g, so only the price per 100 g lets you compare.
| Calendar | Contents | Price found | Price per 100 g (calculated) | Roast date or best-before listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arlo's Coffee 2026 (Ici Présent), beans or ground | 24 x 30 g = 720 g | €49.90 (seller's blog, Sept 2026) | €6.93 | not stated |
| Origines Tea & Coffee (this autumn's edition), beans | 24 x 40 g = 960 g | €69 (10 Oct 2026) | €7.19 | not stated |
Editorial calculation: price ÷ grams x 100. Arlo's price differs between the seller's pages, so check it again. The Origines Tea & Coffee product page says nothing about roasting.
Outside calendars: coffee bean prices in 2026 or a coffee gift box.
In December: one door a day, then reseal
Only open the day's door. To reseal an opened bag, a 2022 study from Zurich's ZHAW ranked a screw cap ahead of a clip, tape or tipping the beans into a container. Ici Présent advises finishing an opened sachet within 5 to 7 days (seller's guidance, checked 10 October 2026). Everyday storage: how to store coffee beans.
A coffee bean advent calendar that says nothing about its roast isn't necessarily a bad one. Still, at the same price per gram, take the seller who writes down a roasting policy, and ask before you buy, not on 1 December.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many cups are in a coffee bean advent calendar?
It depends on the weight per door (30 g or 40 g, pages checked on 10 October 2026). Origines claims 130 cups from 960 g, roughly 5 a day (the brand's own figure).
Do you need a grinder for a whole bean advent calendar?
Yes, or a bean-to-cup machine with a built-in grinder. Otherwise, pick a ground coffee advent calendar: the Arlo's Coffee one comes in both formats.
How much does a coffee bean advent calendar cost in 2026?
Arlo's: €49.90 (Ici Présent blog, September 2026; the seller's other pages differ, so re-check). Origines: €69 (page checked 10 October 2026). That works out at €6.93 to €7.19 per 100 g by editorial calculation.
Sources
- Specialty Coffee Association's literature review sca.coffee
- Coutume Café coutumecafe.com
- DGCCRF (press release, 18 November 2022) presse.economie.gouv.fr
- roasts "to order or in short-run batches" icipresent.com
- Origines Tea & Coffee product page originesteaandcoffee.com
- 2022 study from Zurich's ZHAW digitalcollection.zhaw.ch